Liminal Movements


  1. 1 (10:34)
  2. 2 (11:21)
  3. 3 (09:48)
  4. 4 (14:11)
  5. 5 (09:21)

Since they started @c in 2000, Miguel Carvalhais and Pedro Tudela have been mainly focused on creating electronic computer music. Throughout the years they have developed their own language, mastered the sense of sound/sound-design in their pieces and have created a body of work that relates simultaneously with musique concrete, 90s electronic glitch music and early electronics. It does not necessarily sound like any of those genres but evokes them.

“Liminal Movements” finds its origins on the show “Lâminas”, composed by Carvalhais and Tudela in 2016-2017 and performed live in 2017. The recordings for “Liminal Movements” were captured from two instances - Teatro Maria Matos (Lisboa) and gnration (Porto). On stage with them were Angélica Salvi (harp), João Pais Filipe (drums and percussion) and Ricardo Jacinto (cello and computer).

During its five moments/movements, “Liminal Movements” shows itself as music in constant expansion. It is something that was explored at other moments in @c career, but here has a new purpose with the instruments and sounds these three musicians bring to their music and the way they relate with Carvalhais and Tudela body of work. Salvi, Pais Filipe and Jacinto interact with @c sounds seamlessly and create a dynamic that allows the music to feel free and expand to new forms in a natural and symbiotic way.

After two decades of working together, Carvalhais and Tudela are one of the main references of Portuguese electronic music in the 21th century. “Liminal Movements” holds many of the ingredients of their long-lasting and fearless career.

Composed by Pedro Tudela & Miguel Carvalhais in 2016-2017 for the performance “Lâminas” commissioned by Teatro Maria Matos in Lisbon and gnration in Braga. Performed by Pedro Tudela (computer), Miguel Carvalhais (computer), Angélica Salvi (harp), João Pais Filipe (drums and percussion) and Ricardo Jacinto (cello and computer). Live recordings by André Gonçalves at Teatro Maria Matos and João Coutada at gnration. Recomposed and mastered by Pedro Tudela and Miguel Carvalhais in 2018-2019. Cover design by Márcio Matos.

PT and MC would like to thank André Gonçalves, Angélica Salvi, Francisco Quintas, Ilídio Marques, João Coutada, João Pais Filipe, Luís Fernandes, Pedro Santos, Ricardo Jacinto. Special thanks to André Santos and everyone at Holuzam.

Available from Holuzam.